Fibromyalgia

I am going to start off my blog with an apology. I may not say much about my fibromyalgia.

I find that when I read too much about fibromyalgia, it makes me hurt. This also happens when I write about my own fibro issues.   I think what’s happening here is stress. When I read or write about fibromyalgia, I tend to focus on the negative. This might be focus on my symptoms or focus on how someone else is doing better than me.   Either way, this is not good.

I was listening to NPR the other day. In this interview, the guest said he had this or that medical issue and it was caused by stress, but what isn’t.   This remark hit home for me. If its not fibro, its something else.

I have had some trouble with the standard suggestions for reducing stress (particularly when I was in the middle of having a stressful moment at work). However, one thing is clear to me. Too much focus on my condition (without coming up with solutions) causes my pain to increase. So, I won’t be doing a lot of that on this blog.

IMG_1175

However, for those moments when you need information or focus on your symptoms, here are two good websites/organizations:

National Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain Association http://www.fmcpaware.org/

National Fibromyalgia Association   http://www.fmaware.org/

Leave a Reply

