Reading

I don’t have any statistics on this and I can’t find any, but I do recall hearing that most writers read a lot. I searched the Internet for support, but mostly what I found were lists of what specific writers are reading. It seems like writers should be big readers. I would think that most writers would have to be attracted to reading before deciding to write.

I did find a wonderful article on titled 75 Books Every Writer Should Read that is dated January 7, 2010 (http://www.onlineuniversities.com/blog/2010/01/75-books-every-writer-should-read/

For me, there are two things I need to fit into my day, every day and I feel a bit lost if they don’t happen. One is knitting and the other is reading. The knitting doesn’t always happen.  But, I can’t sleep if I don’t read.

At my peak, I was reading about 2-3 books a week. Now, I have to admit that a large portion of those were easy reads, such as romance novels. However, I also read 1776 (David McCullough) and Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation (Joseph J. Ellis) during that time as well.

Although I am a big proponent of reading books with happy endings, I do like a good non-fiction book.  In fact, when my kids were babies, I had to switch almost totally to non-fiction to make sure I got enough sleep.

IMG_1198

 

Here are some favorite non-fiction books from my recent reading:

I Love It When You Talk Retro: Hoochie Coochie, Double Whammy, Drop a Dime, and the Forgotten Origins of American Speech (Ralph Keyes).  This is a fabulous book. The chapters are organized by word origin. It’s a fascinating read and there were some great memories from childhood for this baby boomer.

The Alice Behind Wonderland (Simon Winchester)   This is a very slim volume that discusses photographs that Lewis Carroll ( aka Charles Dodgson) of the Alice that was the inspiration for the Alice books.  This book also provides some interesting information about early photography.

And I love how I can go research side topics while reading on my tablet.

2 thoughts on “Reading

  1. You really need to improve your non-fiction, historical reading list: The last history I read was remarkable: The Sleepwalkers.
    Try the History of Florence by Ferdinand Schvelle(sp).
    Those look daunting and will keep you busy.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the recommendations. I am always up for new books to add to my reading list and these look like great additions. I am currently in the middle of reading “They Have Killed Papa Dead!”: The Road to Ford’s Theatre, Abraham Lincoln’s Murder, and the Rage for Vengeance (Anthony Pitch), which I am thoroughly enjoying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

