Enjoing the Weather

They call them pop-up showers. Its makes them sound like umbrellas or pup-tents or something. I suppose they just mean that they pop up seemingly out of nowhere. I think we had what qualifies as one the other day. Most of the sky was blue with some white puffy clouds. But, to the south/southwest, there were dark, low clouds. And, as we were driving in that general direction, we soon had drops hitting the windshield.

After dropping my daughter off, I headed east to pick up some things at the store. I drove out of the rain, but it caught up with me.   I had been looking for a rainbow and I finally found it, well several, in the spray coming up off the road. As the rain caught up, I noticed that there were big, fat drops. Each drop seemed to bounce as it hit the pavement, with an individual little rebound circle of splashes.

The rain did not last. When I pulled into the parking lot at the store, the rain had all but stopped. However, other customers were dodging puddles left and right. I figured they just had shoes they didn’t want to get wet or something, but I discovered that the puddles were pretty significant. I dunked a shoe in a particularly large puddle on the way into the store. The parking lot was covered in large amounts of water racing rapidly to the low end of the lot. By the time I left the store, most of the water had dried up and left only a few scant puddles.

I love feeling like I have the time to enjoy a rain storm. I do feel like I lost a lot of connection with the natural world during my time as a working mother.

I would never suggest that women not work. I was a happily working woman for almost 20 years. It could be that I just don’t have the energy that other people have any more. But, when I look back at the years when I had two small children and worked 40 hours a week, I don’t know how I managed it. I was tired when they were little, but that improved with the years and I don’t think the exhaustion at the time was related to fibromyalgia. At the time, I do remember not feeling as though I had a minute for myself (though I am sure that’s an exaggeration). I did reduce my schedule when the kids were older and after‑school care wasn’t meeting my expectations. But, if I had it to do over again, I am not sure I would make the same decision. I might very well try to find a half time job.

But, maybe this is the natural order of things. I don’t know. Maybe it’s the fibromyalgia talking. This is a recurring theme for me. But, I’m not the only one who thinks we work too hard. Please note, I’ve also commented on the commercial in these articles:

http://acculturated.com/whats-wrong-with-working-hard-plenty/

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/she-the-people/wp/2014/02/21/5-things-you-get-from-working-too-hard/

Leave a Reply

