Yay for Me

This is my 4th week of swimming.  Yay!  I made it past my wall.

brick_wall

I even swam in the big pool today–the competition pool.  I’ve been swimming in the lap pool, which is 5 feet at the deep end.  Its over my head in the middle, but not if I stand on tip toes.  The competition pool has diving boards, so its 17 feet deep for most of the lanes.  Its does, however, have a little ledge where you can stand worked into the side walls (very neat).

I swim breast stroke because I can drop my head on each stroke or keep it above water.  That later part comes from swimming with my little fishes (also known as children) for so many years where I had to keep an eye on them.  I learned all of the basic strokes at the YMCA or in school (we had to take swimming in Middle School), but I am out of practice with the front crawl and my hair drags water onto my face, etc.  So, I need to work on that, as its more of a work out than breaststroke.  But, I am happy about my progress.

Anyway, I feel good.  I am both shocked at how hard this was to do and how quickly I got better.  The first few times I swam in 3 1/2 to 4 feet deep and when I had to pick a lane in the 5 feet water, it was weird to always have my chest under water.  I could feel the pressure of it when I was out of breath.

I think I’ve found a good pace that works with my fibromyalgia.  I know I’ll still have hard days.  But maybe I can use these small lessons in my writing as well.

Leave a Reply

