Ethics

Since I left my job in 2013, I’ve been thinking a lot about the ways in which I failed at that job. One of the main points of this meditation has been about the lack of fairness I frequently observed and my inability to accept it.

On the one hand, I know that one of the realities of life is that it’s unfair. To some extent, I do view my inability to accept unfairness as a lack of maturity on my part. Maybe I didn’t observe unfairness first hand early enough in my life. Or maybe I observed it too early. Probably unfairness isn’t a factual thing, but an opinion. As in, unfairness is in the eye of the beholder.

What is unfairness? Dishonesty?  Mistakes? Not being Nice?

catpawnose4.png

We talk a lot about being nice this time of year. And about teaching our kids to be nice. But, do we try and teach nice at the same time that we teach the reality of not being nice? I have someone in my life that told me (near the beginning of my work career) that someone they worked with was unfair, and so they took revenge on them. To be clear, they said they set them up.

When did we get to be such mean people? Have a certain number of people always been this mean? Has it always been okay to take revenge for every time you felt wronged by someone else? Isn’t this why we created laws, courts, judges, and juries?

I used to sing in the children’s choir at church. I never fully appreciated it the time, but I have been thinking about it lately. We had a magnificent choir director and our church ended up having a heavy emphasis on music. Although it is a bit fuzzy as to what songs we sang in the choir and which we just sang as a part of Sunday school, the songs I remember include several classic children’s hymns like “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands,” and “This Is My Father’s World.” I was recently reminded of a song we sang that has been revisited as a commercial:

 

I used to sing in the children’s choir at church. I never fully appreciated it the time, but I have been thinking about it lately. We had a magnificent choir director and our church ended up having a heavy emphasis on music. Although it is a bit fuzzy as to what songs we sang in the choir and which we just sang as a part of Sunday school, the songs I remember include several classic children’s hymns like “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands,” and “This Is My Father’s World.” I was recently reminded of a song we sang that has been revisited as a commercial:

“Let there be peace on earth

And let it begin with me.

Let there be peace on earth

The peace that was meant to be.

With God as our father

Brothers all are we.

Let me walk with my brother

In perfect harmony.”

The new commercial omits the word God in their rendition. However, I think the relevant point is peace on earth and that we are all brothers.

Granted, I’m not always as nice as I could or should be, but it’s nice to focus on a goal of treating each other a little better.

Burros.JPG

It may be naïve and childish of me, but I would like to wish you Holiday season in which we all strive to be kinder and more peaceful New Year.

 

Leave a Reply

