Save me from Pinterest

I am cruising Pinterest and I found these great ideas for bracelets. (Just see my Pinterest Other crafts board.)  And next thing I know, I’m buying supplies on Etsy and looking for patterns. So, yet again, I’m building supplies I don’t have room for.

In the big picture, this is small potatoes.  However, it makes me think about how 1) I have no income coming in and 2) how much I’m not doing about that.

catnest4mod.JPG

Sometimes, I feel like I spend my days wondering what to do with this mess I’ve made. I waffle between various options for a solution to the problem.  I keep looking for what feels right after a ‘lifetime’ of being in job where I felt like I wasn’t where I should be.  The items I’m considering are mainly focused on writing–modern fiction (novel or short story), time travel fiction, memoir, or poetry.

Then, as I noted in one of my soap posts, I considered making soap and selling it online. Its seems a simple transition.  With minimal effort on my art, I have 7 batches of soap. The smallest batch being 6 bars, I probably have more than 60 bars of soap.  Then, I thought maybe liquid soap would make more sense because its seems more popular in general.  I was considering this enough that I started reading some stuff on it and making some spreadsheets on costs verses going prices per bar.

 

many soap4 mod.JPG

Before I got too far, however, I had my cooking moment on Super Bowl weekend.  Its not quite the same.  That is, I put the ingredients for soap together the night before, so I’m not on my feet for as much time as when I’m chopping tomatoes and such for pico de gallo.  So, maybe I could work around bad days and not over stress myself.IMG_1781 Maybe I could make soap a few times a week and keep up with demand.  I could start by giving away to friends and family (which will happen no matter what).

 

Then, I realized that starting even an online business requires a lot of effort–advertising and packaging.  More stock and actually writing down what I fragrance was used so I can make it again.  Further, Soap is regulated as a cosmetic by FDA (as this article from Soap Queen reminded me) and requires compliance with labeling requirements and good manufacturing practices, etc.  I probably wouldn’t be able to make soap in my kitchen for sale purposes.  I also watch Shark Tank and they always say starting a business doesn’t mesh with having a life.  I may not be that bad off.  I am not house bound, but I also have some limitations.

I also considered investment for a few weeks.  I took some money thats already invested in mutual funds and invested in some individual stocks.  I was following recommendations from a subscription investment service.  After reading the newsletters for several weeks, I realized that it bored me.  Not only that, but clearly if it was easy every one would be making money hand over fist.  Well, duh.  Why did it take me a month to figure that out?  I think my reasoning came from my craft experience–if you can give me instructions, I can learn it.  BUT, investing requires an ability to predict the future.  Plus, obviously, its just not the same as making a physical something.

money.JPG

My daughter gave me a basic story line for the picture book we’re working on and I am having a resurgence in interest on that.  I’m trying to draw every day to help develop my skills and I am working on watercolor painting.  A part of me thinks this is crazy too, but I have been drawing for years just not seriously.  I used to sit in meetings and draw the people in the meeting (large meetings are great for this).  I drew my dogs and cats.  I bought my kids drawing books and showed them how to use them.  I really like doing this. Its fun to draw these pictures and if I work enough they feel like they look good.  And its okay even preferable maybe they look a little cartoon-y rather than realistic.  We are working on the text together.  

Maybe I can focus on this picture book and I’m also working on my poetry.  I want to try some traditional forms for poetry.  Two things seems a reasonable number of pursuits to put my energy into.

 

One thought on “Save me from Pinterest

Leave a Reply

